At a glance
Reported students
105
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
9.05
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
11.6:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
09–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Wisconsin high enrollment
25th percentile
Compared with 558 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
342
Groppi High: 105 reported students.
State peer staffing position
26th percentile
11.6:1 reported; state peer median 13.7:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 89
- Teachers (FTE)
- 7
- Student–teacher ratio
- 12.7:1
What the reported data says about Groppi High
Groppi High is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in Milwaukee. It is one of 154 current school records connected to Milwaukee School District. NCES reports 105 students for 2024–25.
Among 558 high schools in Wisconsin with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 274 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 25th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 11.6:1, below the Wisconsin median of 13.7:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (85.7%) and Hispanic or Latino (4.8%). English learners represent 3.4% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 22.5%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Groppi High
- 1How do the reported 11.6:1 student–teacher ratio and 9.05 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 3.4%
- Students with disabilities
- 22.5%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 89.5%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 1
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 1
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White3.8%
- Hispanic4.8%
- Black85.7%
- Asian1%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial4.8%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
No students enrolled reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Milwaukee School District
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
NOVA-Northwest Opportunities Vocational Academy
High · Grades 09–12
104 reported students
Shalom High
High · Grades 09–12
101 reported students
Project STAY-Supporting Teachers and Youth
High · Grades 09–12
114 reported students
Transition High
High · Grades 09–12
90 reported students
ASSATA High
High · Grades 09–12
78 reported students
Alliance School of Milwaukee
High · Grades 09–12
141 reported students
