Skip to content

Jackson County Schools

NCES agency ID 5400540 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

3,977

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

13

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

13.4:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$14,226

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$7,761

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
4,078
Teachers (FTE)
302.25
Student–teacher ratio
13.5:1

What current records say about Jackson County Schools

Jackson County Schools operates 13 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Ripley, West Virginia. NCES reports 3,977 students and 297.2 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within West Virginia agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 18 of 55 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $14,226 in current expenditure per pupil and $7,761 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 35 of 55 in West Virginia. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Jackson County Schools with regular districts in the West Virginia rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
0.2%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
19%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
297.2
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$58,826,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Jackson County Schools

Ripley, West Virginia

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 38.8110, -81.7022

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White95.3%
  • Hispanic2%
  • Black0.5%
  • Asian0.2%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial1.9%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Jackson County Schools

13 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–13 of 13 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Cottageville Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0516113.1:1
Evans Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0514713.7:1
Fairplain Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0515214.5:1
Gilmore Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0515513.7:1
Henry J Kaiser Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0229413.4:1
Kenna Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0522513.1:1
Ravenswood Grade SchoolElementary03–0521612:1
Ravenswood High SchoolHigh09–1239714.4:1
Ravenswood Middle SchoolMiddle06–0830614.7:1
Ripley Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0557014.1:1
Ripley High SchoolHigh09–1276815:1
Ripley Middle SchoolMiddle06–0858615.3:1
Roane-Jackson Technical CenterHigh09–12Not reportedNot reported