Skip to content

WV Schools for the Deaf & the Blind

Grades PK–12 · Romney, WV · NCES 540162101200

At a glance

Reported students

51

NCES CCD 2024–25

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

West Virginia other enrollment

52nd percentile

Compared with 23 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

51

WV Schools for the Deaf & the Blind: 51 reported students.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
66
Teachers (FTE)
15
Student–teacher ratio
4.4:1

What the reported data says about WV Schools for the Deaf & the Blind

WV Schools for the Deaf & the Blind is a public combined / other school serving grades PK–12 in Romney. It is one of 1 current school records connected to WV School For The Deaf & Blind. NCES reports 51 students for 2024–25.

Among 23 combined / other schools in West Virginia with comparable records, this school is close in size to the reported median of 51 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 52nd percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (96.1%) and Black (2%). Students served under IDEA represent 97%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking WV Schools for the Deaf & the Blind

  1. 1What are the current typical and maximum class sizes in each grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

Students with disabilities
97%
Lunch program
No

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
1
Nurses (FTE)
2
Psychologists (FTE)
0
Social workers (FTE)
0

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White96.1%
  • Hispanic0%
  • Black2%
  • Asian0%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native2%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial0%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.