At a glance
Reported students
1,588
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
84
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
18.9:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
10–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Alabama high enrollment
94th percentile
Compared with 314 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
425
Dothan High School: 1,588 reported students.
State peer staffing position
80th percentile
18.9:1 reported; state peer median 17.2:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 1,411
- Teachers (FTE)
- 77
- Student–teacher ratio
- 18.3:1
What the reported data says about Dothan High School
Dothan High School is a public high school serving grades 10–12 in Dothan. It is one of 18 current school records connected to Dothan City. NCES reports 1,588 students for 2024–25.
Among 314 high schools in Alabama with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 525.5 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 94th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 18.9:1, close to the Alabama median of 17.2:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (57.9%) and White (29.7%). English learners represent 6.3% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 10.3%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment. The school reported 17 AP courses. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Dothan High School
- 1How do the reported 18.9:1 student–teacher ratio and 84 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 3 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 6.3%
- Students with disabilities
- 10.3%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 61.5%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 3
- Nurses (FTE)
- 2
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White29.7%
- Hispanic9.1%
- Black57.9%
- Asian1.9%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.1%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.1%
- Multiracial1.3%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
Students enrolled
17 distinct courses reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Dothan City
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Dothan City Virtual School
High · Grades 07–12
226 reported students
PASS Academy
High · Grades 07–12
Enrollment not reported
Dothan Technology Center
High · Grades 10–12
Enrollment not reported
Dothan Preparatory Academy
Middle · Grades 07–08
1,034 reported students
Carver 9th Grade Academy
Other · Grades 09–09
583 reported students
Kelly Springs Elementary School
Elementary · Grades KG–05
516 reported students
