Skip to content

Berry Middle School

Grades 06–12 · Hoover, AL · NCES 010000700337

At a glance

Reported students

1,058

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

72.5

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

14.6:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

06–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Alabama middle enrollment

96th percentile

Compared with 262 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

617.5

Berry Middle School: 1,058 reported students.

State peer staffing position

10th percentile

14.6:1 reported; state peer median 18:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
1,059
Teachers (FTE)
72
Student–teacher ratio
14.7:1

What the reported data says about Berry Middle School

Berry Middle School is a public middle school serving grades 06–12 in Hoover. It is one of 18 current school records connected to Hoover City. NCES reports 1,058 students for 2024–25.

Among 262 middle schools in Alabama with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 449.5 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 96th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 14.6:1, below the Alabama median of 18:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (57.8%) and Black (19.7%). English learners represent 6.2% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 32.4%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking Berry Middle School

  1. 1How do the reported 14.6:1 student–teacher ratio and 72.5 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 2 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

English learners
6.2%
Students with disabilities
32.4%
Free/reduced-price lunch
30.1%
Lunch program
Yes participating without using any Provision or the CEO

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
2
Nurses (FTE)
4
Psychologists (FTE)
0
Social workers (FTE)
1

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White57.8%
  • Hispanic9.1%
  • Black19.7%
  • Asian8.5%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.1%
  • Multiracial4.9%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 18 district schools →