At a glance
Reported students
432
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
21
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
20.6:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
09–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Alabama high enrollment
35th percentile
Compared with 314 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
235
North Jackson High School: 432 reported students.
State peer staffing position
94th percentile
20.6:1 reported; state peer median 17.2:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 450
- Teachers (FTE)
- 25.09
- Student–teacher ratio
- 17.9:1
What the reported data says about North Jackson High School
North Jackson High School is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in Stevenson. It is one of 17 current school records connected to Jackson County. NCES reports 432 students for 2024–25.
Among 314 high schools in Alabama with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 525.5 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 35th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 20.6:1, above the Alabama median of 17.2:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (57.4%) and Black (14.1%). English learners represent 4.7% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 11.1%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking North Jackson High School
- 1How do the reported 20.6:1 student–teacher ratio and 21 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 4.7%
- Students with disabilities
- 11.1%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 56.5%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 1
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White57.4%
- Hispanic13.2%
- Black14.1%
- Asian0.2%
- American Indian / Alaska Native12.7%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial2.3%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
No students enrolled reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Jackson County
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Kevin Dukes Career Innovation Academy
High · Grades 10–12
Enrollment not reported
Section High School
Other · Grades PK–12
503 reported students
Woodville High School
Other · Grades PK–12
504 reported students
Stevenson Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–04
360 reported students
Skyline High School
Other · Grades PK–12
586 reported students
Pisgah High School
Other · Grades PK–12
598 reported students
