Skip to content

Marshall County

NCES agency ID 0100006 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

6,494

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

18

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

18.9:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$13,172

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$7,065

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
6,021
Teachers (FTE)
474.08
Student–teacher ratio
12.7:1

What current records say about Marshall County

Marshall County operates 18 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Guntersville, Alabama. NCES reports 6,494 students and 343.98 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Alabama agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 36 of 139 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $13,172 in current expenditure per pupil and $7,065 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 55 of 138 in Alabama. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Marshall County with regular districts in the Alabama rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
10.6%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
17.9%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
343.98
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$78,385,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Marshall County

Guntersville, Alabama

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 34.3058, -86.2870

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White65.8%
  • Hispanic29.8%
  • Black1.4%
  • Asian0.7%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.6%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.1%
  • Multiracial1.6%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Marshall County

18 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–18 of 18 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Asbury Elementary SchoolElementary03–0572917.2:1
Asbury High SchoolHigh06–1265917.7:1
Asbury Primary SchoolElementaryKG–02Not reportedNot reported
Brindlee Mountain Elementary SchoolElementary03–0528621.2:1
Brindlee Mountain High SchoolHigh06–1249616:1
Brindlee Mountain Primary SchoolElementaryKG–0227817.8:1
Claysville SchoolOtherPK–PKNot reportedNot reported
Douglas Elementary SchoolElementary03–0552118.6:1
Douglas High SchoolHigh09–1272720.6:1
Douglas Middle SchoolMiddle06–0851218.9:1
Kate D Smith DAR Elementary SchoolElementary03–05308Not reported
Kate D Smith DAR High SchoolHigh09–1237217.3:1
Kate D Smith DAR MiddleMiddle06–0837617.9:1
Kate D Smith DAR Primary SchoolElementaryPK–0254621.8:1
Marshall Alternative SchoolOther03–12Not reportedNot reported
Marshall County Online SchoolHigh07–1271Not reported
Marshall Technical SchoolHigh10–12Not reportedNot reported
Robert D Sloman PrimaryElementaryPK–0261315.2:1