Skip to content

Russell County

NCES agency ID 0102880 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

3,850

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

8

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

18.2:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$12,199

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$6,532

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
3,554
Teachers (FTE)
214.63
Student–teacher ratio
16.6:1

What current records say about Russell County

Russell County operates 8 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Phenix City, Alabama. NCES reports 3,850 students and 211.5 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Alabama agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 52 of 139 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $12,199 in current expenditure per pupil and $6,532 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 100 of 138 in Alabama. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Russell County with regular districts in the Alabama rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
1.2%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
18.3%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
211.5
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$45,074,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Russell County

Phenix City, Alabama

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 32.4731, -85.0000

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White42.1%
  • Hispanic9.9%
  • Black38.7%
  • Asian0.6%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.6%
  • Multiracial7.7%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Russell County

8 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–8 of 8 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Alternative Learning CenterHigh05–12Not reportedNot reported
Dixie Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0525116.2:1
Ladonia Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0546119.2:1
Mount Olive Intermediate SchoolElementary03–0534520.3:1
Mt Olive Primary SchoolElementaryPK–0242417.7:1
Oliver Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0548116:1
Russell County High SchoolHigh09–121,07818.6:1
Russell County Middle SchoolMiddle06–0881018.8:1