At a glance
Reported students
572
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
40.5
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
14.1:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
09–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Alabama high enrollment
56th percentile
Compared with 314 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
675
Shelby County High School: 572 reported students.
State peer staffing position
10th percentile
14.1:1 reported; state peer median 17.2:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 547
- Teachers (FTE)
- 38.6
- Student–teacher ratio
- 14.2:1
What the reported data says about Shelby County High School
Shelby County High School is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in Columbiana. It is one of 34 current school records connected to Shelby County. NCES reports 572 students for 2024–25.
Among 314 high schools in Alabama with comparable records, this school is close in size to the reported median of 525.5 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 56th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 14.1:1, below the Alabama median of 17.2:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (72.9%) and Black (12.8%). English learners represent 1.6% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 16.3%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment, gifted and talented programming, computer science. The school reported 12 AP courses. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Shelby County High School
- 1How do the reported 14.1:1 student–teacher ratio and 40.5 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 2 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 1.6%
- Students with disabilities
- 16.3%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 57%
- Lunch program
- Yes participating without using any Provision or the CEO
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 2
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White72.9%
- Hispanic11.7%
- Black12.8%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.2%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial2.4%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
Students enrolled
12 distinct courses reported
Gifted and talented
Offered
Computer science
Offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Shelby County
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Montevallo High School
High · Grades 09–12
485 reported students
Vincent Middle High School
High · Grades 06–12
447 reported students
Calera High
High · Grades 09–12
1,018 reported students
Career Technical Education Center
High · Grades 09–12
Enrollment not reported
New Direction
High · Grades 06–12
Enrollment not reported
SUCCESS Program
High · Grades 09–12
Enrollment not reported
