At a glance
Reported students
360
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
24.1
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
14.9:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
03–05
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Alabama elementary enrollment
29th percentile
Compared with 696 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
386.5
R E Thompson Intermediate School: 360 reported students.
State peer staffing position
16th percentile
14.9:1 reported; state peer median 16.9:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 302
- Teachers (FTE)
- 18.75
- Student–teacher ratio
- 16.1:1
What the reported data says about R E Thompson Intermediate School
R E Thompson Intermediate School is a public elementary school serving grades 03–05 in Tuscumbia. It is one of 6 current school records connected to Tuscumbia City. NCES reports 360 students for 2024–25.
Among 696 elementary schools in Alabama with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 471 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 29th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 14.9:1, below the Alabama median of 16.9:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (61.1%) and Black (24.7%). English learners represent 1.3% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 13.9%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports gifted and talented programming. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking R E Thompson Intermediate School
- 1How do the reported 14.9:1 student–teacher ratio and 24.1 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 1.3%
- Students with disabilities
- 13.9%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 55.8%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 1
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White61.1%
- Hispanic5%
- Black24.7%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.3%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.3%
- Multiracial8.6%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Tuscumbia City
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
G W Trenholm Primary School
Elementary · Grades PK–02
413 reported students
Deshler Middle School
Middle · Grades 06–08
336 reported students
Deshler High School
High · Grades 09–12
488 reported students
Deshler Career Technical Center
High · Grades 09–12
Enrollment not reported
Deshler Alternative School
Other · Grades 04–12
Enrollment not reported
