At a glance
Reported students
125
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
13.9
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
9:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
PK–08
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Arizona elementary enrollment
10th percentile
Compared with 1,189 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
356
Paul Dunbar Lawrence School: 125 reported students.
State peer staffing position
4th percentile
9:1 reported; state peer median 16.3:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 230
- Teachers (FTE)
- 17
- Student–teacher ratio
- 13.5:1
What the reported data says about Paul Dunbar Lawrence School
Paul Dunbar Lawrence School is a public elementary school serving grades PK–08 in PHOENIX. It is one of 15 current school records connected to Phoenix Elementary District (4256). NCES reports 125 students for 2024–25.
Among 1,189 elementary schools in Arizona with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 453 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 10th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 9:1, below the Arizona median of 16.3:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (48%) and Black (44.8%). English learners represent 16.5% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 10.4%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports gifted and talented programming. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Paul Dunbar Lawrence School
- 1How do the reported 9:1 student–teacher ratio and 13.9 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 16.5%
- Students with disabilities
- 10.4%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0.2
- Social workers (FTE)
- 2
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White1.6%
- Hispanic48%
- Black44.8%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.8%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial4.8%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Phoenix Elementary District (4256)
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Faith North Early Childhood Learning Center
Elementary · Grades PK–KG
103 reported students
Ralph Waldo Emerson Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–08
189 reported students
Thomas A Edison School
Elementary · Grades PK–08
Enrollment not reported
Kenilworth Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–08
Enrollment not reported
Phoenix #1 iAcademy
Elementary · Grades KG–08
0 reported students
Lowell Elementary School
Elementary · Grades PK–08
282 reported students
