At a glance
Reported students
15
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
1.96
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
7.7:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
KG–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
California other enrollment
11th percentile
Compared with 564 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
413.5
Compton STEP: 15 reported students.
State peer staffing position
13th percentile
7.7:1 reported; state peer median 18:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 14
- Teachers (FTE)
- 5
- Student–teacher ratio
- 2.8:1
What the reported data says about Compton STEP
Compton STEP is a public combined / other school serving grades KG–12 in Compton. It is one of 37 current school records connected to Compton Unified. NCES reports 15 students for 2024–25.
Among 564 combined / other schools in California with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 220 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 11th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 7.7:1, below the California median of 18:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (46.7%) and Hispanic or Latino (33.3%). English learners represent 14.3% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 100%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Compton STEP
- 1How do the reported 7.7:1 student–teacher ratio and 1.96 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 14.3%
- Students with disabilities
- 100%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 80%
- Lunch program
- Missing
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 0
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White6.7%
- Hispanic33.3%
- Black46.7%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial13.3%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Compton Unified
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Compton Virtual Academy
Other · Grades KG–12
0 reported students
Compton Academy of Technology and Innovation High
Other · Grades 09–09
Enrollment not reported
Thurgood Marshall
Other · Grades KG–12
51 reported students
Compton Community Day High
High · Grades 09–12
6 reported students
Compton Community Day Middle
Middle · Grades 06–08
2 reported students
Enterprise Middle
Middle · Grades 07–08
182 reported students
