Skip to content

Needles Unified

NCES agency ID 0626760 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

921

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

8

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

18.6:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$22,698

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$13,146

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

KG–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
911
Teachers (FTE)
50.17
Student–teacher ratio
18.2:1

What current records say about Needles Unified

Needles Unified operates 8 current public-school records serving grades KG–12 in Needles, California. NCES reports 921 students and 49.43 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within California agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 561 of 977 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $22,698 in current expenditure per pupil and $13,146 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 207 of 974 in California. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Needles Unified with regular districts in the California rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
0.4%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
14.9%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
49.43
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$21,677,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Needles Unified

Needles, California

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 34.8384, -114.6203

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White42.3%
  • Hispanic34.7%
  • Black4.1%
  • Asian1.1%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native11.7%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.2%
  • Multiracial5.8%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Needles Unified

8 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–8 of 8 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Chemehuevi Valley ElementaryElementaryKG–054019.2:1
Educational Training CenterHigh09–12917.3:1
Monument PeakElementaryKG–087017.2:1
Monument Peak HighHigh09–12Not reportedNot reported
Needles Community DayHigh06–12189:1
Needles HighHigh09–1226918.8:1
Needles MiddleMiddle06–0819617.3:1
Vista Colorado ElementaryElementaryKG–0531921.1:1