Skip to content

PRESTON HIGH SCHOOL

Grades 09–12 · PRESTON, ID · NCES 160096000182

151 EAST 2ND SOUTH · PRESTON, ID 83263

At a glance

Reported students

679

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

35.25

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

19.3:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

09–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Idaho high enrollment

79th percentile

Compared with 217 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

533

PRESTON HIGH SCHOOL: 679 reported students.

State peer staffing position

75th percentile

19.3:1 reported; state peer median 15.4:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
795
Teachers (FTE)
40
Student–teacher ratio
19.9:1

What the reported data says about PRESTON HIGH SCHOOL

PRESTON HIGH SCHOOL is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in PRESTON. It is one of 5 current school records connected to PRESTON JOINT DISTRICT. NCES reports 679 students for 2024–25.

Among 217 high schools in Idaho with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 206 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 79th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 19.3:1, above the Idaho median of 15.4:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (85.9%) and Hispanic or Latino (10.8%). Students served under IDEA represent 9.8%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking PRESTON HIGH SCHOOL

  1. 1How do the reported 19.3:1 student–teacher ratio and 35.25 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 2 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

Students with disabilities
9.8%
Free/reduced-price lunch
34.5%
Lunch program
Not reported

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
2
Nurses (FTE)
0
Psychologists (FTE)
0.33
Social workers (FTE)
0.5

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White85.9%
  • Hispanic10.8%
  • Black0.3%
  • Asian0.1%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native1.5%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.6%
  • Multiracial0.9%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 5 district schools →