At a glance
Reported students
161
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
9.66
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
16.7:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
PK–PK
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Illinois other enrollment
65th percentile
Compared with 179 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
391
Richton Square School: 161 reported students.
State peer staffing position
60th percentile
16.7:1 reported; state peer median 15:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- Not reported
- Teachers (FTE)
- 15
- Student–teacher ratio
- Not reported
What the reported data says about Richton Square School
Richton Square School is a public combined / other school serving grades PK–PK in Richton Park. It is one of 7 current school records connected to Matteson ESD 162. NCES reports 161 students for 2024–25.
Among 179 combined / other schools in Illinois with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 94 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 65th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 16.7:1, above the Illinois median of 15:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (91.9%) and Hispanic or Latino (3.1%). These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Richton Square School
- 1How do the reported 16.7:1 student–teacher ratio and 9.66 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 36%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 1
- Social workers (FTE)
- 1
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White2.5%
- Hispanic3.1%
- Black91.9%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial2.5%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Matteson ESD 162
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Indiana Elem School
Middle · Grades 04–06
215 reported students
Sauk Elem School
Middle · Grades 04–06
281 reported students
Illinois School
Elementary · Grades KG–08
391 reported students
Matteson Elem School
Elementary · Grades KG–03
420 reported students
O W Huth Middle School
Middle · Grades 07–08
421 reported students
Arcadia Elem School
Elementary · Grades KG–03
516 reported students
