At a glance
Reported students
243
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
11.5
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
21.1:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
PK–PK
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Illinois other enrollment
77th percentile
Compared with 179 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
610
Franklin Elementary School: 243 reported students.
State peer staffing position
75th percentile
21.1:1 reported; state peer median 15:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- Not reported
- Teachers (FTE)
- 8
- Student–teacher ratio
- Not reported
What the reported data says about Franklin Elementary School
Franklin Elementary School is a public combined / other school serving grades PK–PK in Mattoon. It is one of 5 current school records connected to Mattoon CUSD 2. NCES reports 243 students for 2024–25.
Among 179 combined / other schools in Illinois with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 94 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 77th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 21.1:1, above the Illinois median of 15:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (74.9%) and multiracial (9.9%). These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Franklin Elementary School
- 1How do the reported 21.1:1 student–teacher ratio and 11.5 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Enrollment needs
- Lunch program
- No
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 1
- Social workers (FTE)
- 1
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White74.9%
- Hispanic6.2%
- Black7.8%
- Asian0.4%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.8%
- Multiracial9.9%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Mattoon CUSD 2
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Riddle Elementary School
Elementary · Grades KG–05
589 reported students
Mattoon Middle School
Middle · Grades 06–08
610 reported students
Arland D Williams Jr Elem Sch
Elementary · Grades KG–05
653 reported students
Mattoon High School
High · Grades 09–12
888 reported students
