Skip to content

Fayette County

NCES agency ID 2101860 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

42,138

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

79

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

13.8:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$18,318

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$11,007

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
40,043
Teachers (FTE)
2,795.6
Student–teacher ratio
14.3:1

What current records say about Fayette County

Fayette County operates 79 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Lexington, Kentucky. NCES reports 42,138 students and 3,057.21 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Kentucky agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 2 of 171 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $18,318 in current expenditure per pupil and $11,007 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 8 of 171 in Kentucky. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Fayette County with regular districts in the Kentucky rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
14.5%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
10.6%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
3,057.21
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$758,773,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Fayette County

Lexington, Kentucky

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 38.0696, -84.4858

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White41.6%
  • Hispanic22.2%
  • Black23.5%
  • Asian5.4%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.1%
  • Multiracial7%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Fayette County

79 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–24 of 79 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Arlington Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0532211.1:1
Ashland Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0531612.4:1
Athens-Chilesburg ElementaryElementaryKG–0562015.1:1
Audrey Grevious CenterHigh06–12214.2:1
Beaumont Middle SchoolMiddle06–0874314.8:1
Blackburn Education CenterOtherUG–UG0Not reported
Booker T Washington Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0537713.5:1
Breckinridge ElementaryElementaryPK–0557611.6:1
Brenda Cowan ElementaryElementaryPK–0558613.5:1
Bryan Station High SchoolHigh09–122,03017.3:1
Bryan Station Middle SchoolMiddle06–0874413.4:1
Cardinal Valley Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0564312.1:1
Carter G. Woodson AcademyHigh06–1231612.8:1
Cassidy Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0563214.3:1
Central Ky Technical CollegeOtherUG–UG0Not reported
Clays Mill Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0552713.5:1
Coventry Oak ElementaryElementaryPK–0575513.7:1
Crawford Middle SchoolMiddle06–0871012.4:1
Deep Springs Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0552111.8:1
Dixie Elementary Magnet SchoolElementaryPK–0558414.4:1
Edythe Jones Hayes Middle SchoolMiddle06–081,12515:1
Family Care CenterHigh09–12227.3:1
Fayette County Preschool CenterOtherPK–PK413.4:1
Fayette Pre-SchoolOtherPK–PK3737:1