Skip to content

Johnson County

NCES agency ID 2103060 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

3,292

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

11

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

13.2:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$13,833

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$9,371

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
3,297
Teachers (FTE)
243.53
Student–teacher ratio
13.5:1

What current records say about Johnson County

Johnson County operates 11 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Paintsville, Kentucky. NCES reports 3,292 students and 249.72 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Kentucky agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 47 of 171 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $13,833 in current expenditure per pupil and $9,371 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 95 of 171 in Kentucky. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Johnson County with regular districts in the Kentucky rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
0.4%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
19.5%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
249.72
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$46,258,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Johnson County

Paintsville, Kentucky

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 37.8206, -82.8162

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White96%
  • Hispanic1.3%
  • Black0.5%
  • Asian0.4%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.1%
  • Multiracial1.6%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Johnson County

11 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–11 of 11 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Carl D Perkins Comprehensive Rehab CtrOtherUG–UG0Not reported
Central Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0634111.9:1
Flat Gap Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0624113.8:1
Highland Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0639213.3:1
Johnson Central High SchoolHigh09–1288812.3:1
Johnson County Eagle AcademyOtherKG–1216053:1
Johnson County Middle SchoolMiddle07–0844911.3:1
Kentucky TECH - Mayo Regional Tech CtrOtherUG–UG0Not reported
Mayo Technical CollegeOtherUG–UG0Not reported
Porter Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0643115:1
W R Castle Memorial Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0639012.7:1