At a glance
Source years shown below
Reported students
1,670
NCES CCD 2024–25
Open schools
6
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
Student–teacher ratio
13.2:1
Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE
Spending per pupil
$16,969
Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33
Instruction per pupil
$8,604
Calculated from FY 2023 F-33
Grades served
PK–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.
- Students
- 1,598
- Teachers (FTE)
- 114
- Student–teacher ratio
- 14:1
What current records say about RSU 79/MSAD 01
RSU 79/MSAD 01 operates 6 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Presque Isle, Maine. NCES reports 1,670 students and 126.49 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.
Within Maine agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 38 of 250 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.
FY 2023 finance records show $16,969 in current expenditure per pupil and $8,604 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 153 of 197 in Maine. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.
Reported needs and resources
- English learners
- 0.9%
- Students with disabilities (IDEA)
- 17.9%
- Classroom teachers (FTE)
- 126.49
- Current expenditure (FY 2023)
- $29,102,000
Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.
RSU 79/MSAD 01
Presque Isle, Maine
NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 46.6851, -68.0050
View office location on a map →An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.
Enrollment questions to ask →Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White85.6%
- Hispanic3.7%
- Black0.9%
- Asian0.7%
- American Indian / Alaska Native4%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.3%
- Multiracial4.7%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.
Explore schools in RSU 79/MSAD 01
6 current directory entries
Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.
Showing 1–6 of 6 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.
| School | Level / grades | Students | Ratio | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eva Hoyt Zippel School | Elementary03–05 | 289 | 14.8:1 | |
| Mapleton Elementary School | ElementaryPK–05 | 228 | 13.6:1 | |
| Pine Street Elementary School | ElementaryPK–02 | 325 | 15.6:1 | |
| Presque Isle High School | High09–12 | 474 | 13.7:1 | |
| Presque Isle Middle School | Middle06–08 | 354 | 13.3:1 | |
| Presque Isle Reg Career & Tech Ctr | OtherN–N | Not reported | Not reported |
