At a glance
Reported students
523
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
35.6
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
14.7:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
09–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Michigan high enrollment
71st percentile
Compared with 978 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
408
Detroit School of Arts: 523 reported students.
State peer staffing position
26th percentile
14.7:1 reported; state peer median 18.1:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 418
- Teachers (FTE)
- 38
- Student–teacher ratio
- 11:1
What the reported data says about Detroit School of Arts
Detroit School of Arts is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in DETROIT. It is one of 104 current school records connected to Detroit Public Schools Community District. NCES reports 523 students for 2024–25.
Among 978 high schools in Michigan with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 280 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 71st percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 14.7:1, below the Michigan median of 18.1:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (93.3%) and White (2.9%). English learners represent 2.4% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 13.4%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment. The school reported 2 AP courses. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Detroit School of Arts
- 1How do the reported 14.7:1 student–teacher ratio and 35.6 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 2.4%
- Students with disabilities
- 13.4%
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 70.9%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 1
- Nurses (FTE)
- 0
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 1
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White2.9%
- Hispanic1.5%
- Black93.3%
- Asian0.2%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.2%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.2%
- Multiracial1.7%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
Students enrolled
2 distinct courses reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Detroit Public Schools Community District
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Cody High School
High · Grades 09–12
563 reported students
Denby High School
High · Grades 09–12
464 reported students
Southeastern High School
High · Grades 09–12
602 reported students
Henry Ford High School
High · Grades 09–12
607 reported students
Pershing High School
High · Grades 09–12
415 reported students
East English Village Preparatory Academy at Finney
High · Grades 09–12
639 reported students
