Skip to content

Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools

NCES agency ID 2707200 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

5,175

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

17.7:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$13,682

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$9,039

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
5,368
Teachers (FTE)
308.84
Student–teacher ratio
17.4:1

What current records say about Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools

Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools operates 12 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in BUFFALO, Minnesota. NCES reports 5,175 students and 292 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Minnesota agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 38 of 327 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $13,682 in current expenditure per pupil and $9,039 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 215 of 327 in Minnesota. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools with regular districts in the Minnesota rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
1.6%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
17.6%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
292
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$72,690,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools

BUFFALO, Minnesota

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 45.1753, -93.8739

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White86%
  • Hispanic5.2%
  • Black3.2%
  • Asian1.5%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.1%
  • Multiracial3.8%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools

12 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–12 of 12 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Bison OnlineHigh09–12Not reportedNot reported
BUFFALO COMMUNITY MIDDLEMiddle06–081,16021.4:1
BUFFALO EARLY CHILD. SP. ED PROGRAMOtherPK–PK15016.7:1
BUFFALO SENIOR HIGHHigh09–121,68123.7:1
DISCOVERY ELEMENTARYElementaryKG–0525716.6:1
HANOVER ELEMENTARYElementaryKG–0536817.8:1
Montrose Elementary School of InnovElementaryPK–0536314.4:1
NORTHWINDS ELEMENTARYElementaryKG–0541914.8:1
PARKSIDE ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–0534812.8:1
PHOENIX LEARNING CENTERHigh09–123615:1
PRIDE TRANSITIONSHigh12–120Not reported
Tatanka Elementary STEM SchoolElementaryKG–0539314.9:1