Skip to content

Owatonna Public School District

NCES agency ID 2728050 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

4,890

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

16

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

14.3:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$13,596

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$9,000

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
4,773
Teachers (FTE)
333.34
Student–teacher ratio
14.3:1

What current records say about Owatonna Public School District

Owatonna Public School District operates 16 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in OWATONNA, Minnesota. NCES reports 4,890 students and 343.02 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Minnesota agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 40 of 327 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $13,596 in current expenditure per pupil and $9,000 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 220 of 327 in Minnesota. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Owatonna Public School District with regular districts in the Minnesota rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
8%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
16.2%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
343.02
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$66,973,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Owatonna Public School District

OWATONNA, Minnesota

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 44.0803, -93.2201

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White69.6%
  • Hispanic18.2%
  • Black7.2%
  • Asian0.8%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.1%
  • Multiracial4%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Owatonna Public School District

16 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–16 of 16 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Lincoln ElementaryElementaryKG–0550513.6:1
McKinley ElementaryElementaryKG–0551013.1:1
OEC ELCOtherPK–PK109Not reported
Out of State Care and TreatmentOtherKG–120Not reported
Owatonna ALC 9-12High09–12706.3:1
Owatonna ECSEOtherPK–PK875.8:1
Owatonna Middle SchoolMiddle06–081,01515:1
Owatonna Night SchoolHigh09–120Not reported
Owatonna Online 4-6Middle04–061442.4:1
Owatonna Online 7-8Middle07–082221.6:1
Owatonna Online 9-12High09–12136136:1
Owatonna Senior HighHigh09–121,46817.5:1
Owatonna Summer School 6-8Middle06–080Not reported
Owatonna Summer School 9-12High09–120Not reported
Washington ElementaryElementaryKG–0546812.8:1
Wilson ElementaryElementaryKG–0545413.1:1