At a glance
Reported students
74
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
9.5
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
7.8:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
09–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
New Jersey high enrollment
11th percentile
Compared with 464 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
49
Hillcrest Academy-North: 74 reported students.
State peer staffing position
7th percentile
7.8:1 reported; state peer median 12.1:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 71
- Teachers (FTE)
- 11
- Student–teacher ratio
- 6.5:1
What the reported data says about Hillcrest Academy-North
Hillcrest Academy-North is a public high school serving grades 09–12 in SCOTCH PLAINS. It is one of 6 current school records connected to Union County Educational Services Commission. NCES reports 74 students for 2024–25.
Among 464 high schools in New Jersey with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 783 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 11th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 7.8:1, below the New Jersey median of 12.1:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (71.6%) and Black (20.3%). These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking Hillcrest Academy-North
- 1How do the reported 7.8:1 student–teacher ratio and 9.5 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 0 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 63.5%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 0
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 1
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White8.1%
- Hispanic71.6%
- Black20.3%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial0%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
No students enrolled reported
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Union County Educational Services Commission
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Hillcrest Academy-South
High · Grades 09–12
87 reported students
Lamberts Mill Academy
High · Grades 06–12
42 reported students
Work Readiness Academy
High · Grades 12–12
23 reported students
Crossroads School
Elementary · Grades PK–08
52 reported students
Westlake
Other · Grades 04–12
46 reported students
