Skip to content

ROSWELL INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS

NCES agency ID 3502250 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

9,230

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

22

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

12.3:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$14,716

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$8,442

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
9,255
Teachers (FTE)
555.66
Student–teacher ratio
16.7:1

What current records say about ROSWELL INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS

ROSWELL INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS operates 22 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in ROSWELL, New Mexico. NCES reports 9,230 students and 747.49 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within New Mexico agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 9 of 89 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $14,716 in current expenditure per pupil and $8,442 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 77 of 89 in New Mexico. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare ROSWELL INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS with regular districts in the New Mexico rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
14%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
17.6%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
747.49
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$142,760,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

ROSWELL INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS

ROSWELL, New Mexico

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 33.3959, -104.5279

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White21.7%
  • Hispanic74.9%
  • Black2%
  • Asian0.5%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.4%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.1%
  • Multiracial0.3%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in ROSWELL INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS

22 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–22 of 22 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
BERRENDO ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–053279.9:1
BERRENDO MIDDLEMiddle06–0857113.2:1
DEL NORTE ELEMENTARYElementaryKG–0551812.1:1
EARLY COLLEGE HIGH SCHOOLHigh09–1215115.3:1
EAST GRAND PLAINS ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–052016.8:1
EL CAPITAN ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–0538011.3:1
GODDARD HIGHHigh09–121,09617.3:1
MESA MIDDLEMiddle06–0835010.9:1
MILITARY HEIGHTS ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–0542612.5:1
MISSOURI AVE ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–053229.6:1
MONTERREY ELEMENTARYElementaryKG–05373Not reported
MOUNTAIN VIEW MIDDLEMiddle06–0848117.4:1
NANCY LOPEZ ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–051906.9:1
PARKVIEW EARLY LITERACY CENTEROtherPK–PK28214.1:1
PECOS ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–05255Not reported
ROSWELL HIGHHigh09–121,43718.3:1
SIDNEY GUTIERREZ MIDDLECharterElementaryKG–0819616.3:1
SIERRA MIDDLEMiddle06–0855713.3:1
SUNSET ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–05253Not reported
UNIVERSITY HIGHHigh09–1216714.2:1
VALLEY VIEW ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–05388Not reported
WASHINGTON AVE ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–052638.3:1