Skip to content

Youngstown City

NCES agency ID 3904516 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

4,570

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

15

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

14.9:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$24,791

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$11,987

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
4,582
Teachers (FTE)
379
Student–teacher ratio
12.1:1

What current records say about Youngstown City

Youngstown City operates 15 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Youngstown, Ohio. NCES reports 4,570 students and 306 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Ohio agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 68 of 617 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $24,791 in current expenditure per pupil and $11,987 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 8 of 616 in Ohio. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Youngstown City with regular districts in the Ohio rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
8.8%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
14.6%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
306
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$115,005,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Youngstown City

Youngstown, Ohio

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 41.1023, -80.6485

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White13%
  • Hispanic26.8%
  • Black49.4%
  • Asian0.3%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial10.3%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Youngstown City

15 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–15 of 15 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Chaney HighHigh09–1253616.8:1
Chaney MiddleMiddle06–0825311.5:1
Choffin Career CntrHigh11–12292.1:1
East High SchoolHigh09–1261222.7:1
East Middle at PRBerryMiddle06–0829812.4:1
Harding Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0532413:1
M L King Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0530714.6:1
Paul C Bunn Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0531112.4:1
Rayen Early College Middle SchoolMiddle05–0837018.5:1
Taft Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0527411:1
Volney Rogers Elementary at McGuffeyElementaryKG–05Not reportedNot reported
Wilson Alternative SchoolOther03–121048.7:1
Youngstown PreschoolOtherPK–PK19011.2:1
Youngstown Rayen Early College High SchoolHigh09–1229619.7:1
Youngstown Virtual AcademyHigh06–1210050:1