At a glance
Reported students
104
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
12
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
8.7:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
03–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Ohio other enrollment
39th percentile
Compared with 207 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
297
Wilson Alternative School: 104 reported students.
State peer staffing position
12th percentile
8.7:1 reported; state peer median 17.6:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- 139
- Teachers (FTE)
- 10
- Student–teacher ratio
- 13.9:1
What the reported data says about Wilson Alternative School
Wilson Alternative School is a public combined / other school serving grades 03–12 in Youngstown. It is one of 15 current school records connected to Youngstown City. NCES reports 104 students for 2024–25.
Among 207 combined / other schools in Ohio with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 159 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 39th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 8.7:1, below the Ohio median of 17.6:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Black (59.6%) and Hispanic or Latino (18.3%). English learners represent 3.6% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 28.8%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports gifted and talented programming. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.
Questions worth asking Wilson Alternative School
- 1How do the reported 8.7:1 student–teacher ratio and 12 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Enrollment needs
- English learners
- 3.6%
- Students with disabilities
- 28.8%
- Lunch program
- Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 1
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 1
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White14.4%
- Hispanic18.3%
- Black59.6%
- Asian0%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial7.7%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
AP student enrollment
No students enrolled reported
Gifted and talented
Offered
Computer science
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in Youngstown City
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
Youngstown Preschool
Other · Grades PK–PK
190 reported students
Youngstown Virtual Academy
High · Grades 06–12
100 reported students
Choffin Career Cntr
High · Grades 11–12
29 reported students
Volney Rogers Elementary at McGuffey
Elementary · Grades KG–05
Enrollment not reported
Chaney Middle
Middle · Grades 06–08
253 reported students
Taft Elementary School
Elementary · Grades KG–05
274 reported students
