Skip to content

Chariho

NCES agency ID 4400150 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

2,966

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

8

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

11.9:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$20,898

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$12,472

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
2,920
Teachers (FTE)
245
Student–teacher ratio
11.9:1

What current records say about Chariho

Chariho operates 8 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Wood River Junction, Rhode Island. NCES reports 2,966 students and 249 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Rhode Island agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 15 of 36 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $20,898 in current expenditure per pupil and $12,472 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 16 of 36 in Rhode Island. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Chariho with regular districts in the Rhode Island rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
0.3%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
14.3%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
249
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$64,826,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Chariho

Wood River Junction, Rhode Island

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 41.4492, -71.6954

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White88.6%
  • Hispanic4.5%
  • Black0.7%
  • Asian0.3%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native1.4%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.1%
  • Multiracial4.3%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Chariho

8 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–8 of 8 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Ashaway Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0421215.1:1
Chariho Alternative Learning AOther01–12717.1:1
Chariho Career and Tech CenterHigh09–12Not reportedNot reported
Chariho High SchoolHigh09–1299112.7:1
Chariho Regional Middle SchoolMiddle05–0883412.4:1
Charlestown Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0424612.9:1
Hope Valley Elementary AnnexOtherPK–PKNot reportedNot reported
Richmond Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0437113.3:1