Skip to content

SC Public Charter School District

NCES agency ID 4503901 · Independent charter district

At a glance

Reported students

21,383

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

45

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

14.7:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$23,863

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$18,184

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
14,442
Teachers (FTE)
1,009.4
Student–teacher ratio
14.3:1

What current records say about SC Public Charter School District

SC Public Charter School District operates 45 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Columbia, South Carolina. NCES reports 21,383 students and 1,457.11 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within South Carolina agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 2 of 3 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $23,863 in current expenditure per pupil and $18,184 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 1 of 2 in South Carolina. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Reported needs and resources

English learners
6%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
11.6%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
1,457.11
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$420,009,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

SC Public Charter School District

Columbia, South Carolina

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 34.0134, -81.0275

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White47.8%
  • Hispanic13.3%
  • Black30.4%
  • Asian2.3%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.5%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.2%
  • Multiracial5.6%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in SC Public Charter School District

45 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–24 of 45 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Bettis Preparatory Leadership AcademyCharterElementaryKG–0811811.8:1
Bridges Preparatory SchoolCharterOtherKG–121,47215:1
Butler AcademyCharterOtherKG–0939311.9:1
Cape Romain Environmental Education Charter SchoolCharterElementaryPK–0818113.4:1
Carolina Shores Acceleration AcademyCharterHigh09–1227734.6:1
Carolus Online AcademyCharterOtherKG–121,78627.9:1
Compass Collegiate AcademyCharterElementaryKG–0515513.5:1
East Point AcademyCharterElementaryPK–0872413.2:1
Felton Laboratory Charter SchoolCharterElementaryKG–0827920.8:1
Fox Creek HighCharterHigh09–1267215.8:1
GREEN Charter School MidlandsCharterElementaryKG–082589.9:1
GREEN Charter School GreenvilleCharterElementaryKG–0899814.3:1
GREEN Charter School LowcountryCharterElementaryKG–0830112:1
GREEN Charter School SimpsonvilleCharterElementaryKG–0836714.1:1
GREEN Charter School SpartanburgCharterElementaryKG–0841211.1:1
GREEN Upstate High School GreenvilleCharterHigh09–1239011.5:1
Greenville Technical Charter High SchoolCharterHigh09–1253016.2:1
Greer Middle College Charter HighCharterHigh09–1253518.1:1
Greer Preparatory AcademyCharterMiddle06–07Not reportedNot reported
Heartwood Community SchoolCharterElementaryKG–03875.9:1
High Point AcademyCharterOtherKG–121,20813.7:1
Lakes and Bridges Charter SchoolCharterElementary01–082048.6:1
LEAD AcademyCharterElementaryKG–0840313.1:1
Learn4Life High School-CharlestonCharterHigh09–1216923.5:1