At a glance
Source years shown below
Reported students
81,021
NCES CCD 2024–25
Open schools
159
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
Spending per pupil
$17,808
Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33
Instruction per pupil
$8,484
Calculated from FY 2023 F-33
Grades served
PK–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.
- Students
- 75,356
- Teachers (FTE)
- 5,124.5
- Student–teacher ratio
- 14.7:1
What current records say about Metro Nashville Public Schools
Metro Nashville Public Schools operates 159 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Nashville, Tennessee. NCES reports 81,021 students and no matched teacher total for 2024–25.
Within Tennessee agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 2 of 141 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.
FY 2023 finance records show $17,808 in current expenditure per pupil and $8,484 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 2 of 140 in Tennessee. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.
Reported needs and resources
- English learners
- 22.4%
- Students with disabilities (IDEA)
- 11%
- Current expenditure (FY 2023)
- $1,436,200,000
Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.
Metro Nashville Public Schools
Nashville, Tennessee
NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 35.4836, -86.0853
View office location on a map →An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.
Enrollment questions to ask →Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White23.3%
- Hispanic34.8%
- Black34.7%
- Asian3.2%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.2%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.1%
- Multiracial3.7%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.
Explore schools in Metro Nashville Public Schools
159 current directory entries
Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.
Showing 1–24 of 159 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.
| School | Level / grades | Students | Ratio | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A. Z. Kelley Elementary School | ElementaryPK–05 | 840 | Not reported | |
| Alex Green Elementary School | ElementaryPK–05 | 451 | Not reported | |
| Amqui Elementary School | ElementaryPK–08 | 626 | Not reported | |
| Andrew Jackson Elementary School | ElementaryPK–05 | 493 | Not reported | |
| Antioch High School | High09–12 | 2,212 | Not reported | |
| Antioch Middle School | Middle06–08 | 656 | Not reported | |
| Apollo Middle School | Middle06–08 | 549 | Not reported | |
| Aventura Community SchoolCharter | ElementaryKG–08 | 284 | Not reported | |
| Bellevue Middle School | Middle06–08 | 438 | Not reported | |
| Bellshire Elementary School | ElementaryPK–05 | 346 | Not reported | |
| Cambridge Early Learning Center | OtherPK–PK | 132 | Not reported | |
| Cane Ridge Elementary School | ElementaryPK–05 | 777 | Not reported | |
| Cane Ridge High School | High09–12 | 1,982 | Not reported | |
| Carter-Lawrence Elementary School | ElementaryPK–05 | 227 | Not reported | |
| Casa Azafran Early Learning Center | OtherPK–PK | 83 | Not reported | |
| Chadwell Elementary School | ElementaryPK–05 | 478 | Not reported | |
| Charlotte Park Elementary School | ElementaryPK–05 | 527 | Not reported | |
| Cockrill Elementary School | ElementaryPK–05 | 286 | Not reported | |
| Cole Elementary School | ElementaryPK–05 | 780 | Not reported | |
| Cora Howe School | OtherKG–12 | 78 | Not reported | |
| Crieve Hall Elementary School | ElementaryKG–05 | 489 | Not reported | |
| Croft Middle School | Middle06–08 | 411 | Not reported | |
| Cumberland Elementary School | ElementaryKG–05 | 452 | Not reported | |
| Dan Mills Elementary School | ElementaryPK–05 | 606 | Not reported |
