At a glance
Reported students
143
NCES CCD 2024–25
Teachers (FTE)
7.12
NCES CCD 2024–25
Student–teacher ratio
20.1:1
Calculated; not a class-size measure
Grades served
PK–PK
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
School benchmarks
Texas other enrollment
41st percentile
Compared with 695 same-level schools reporting enrollment.
District median enrollment
479
HEAD START: 143 reported students.
State peer staffing position
92nd percentile
20.1:1 reported; state peer median 11.8:1. Ratio is not class size.
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.
- Students
- Not reported
- Teachers (FTE)
- 8.14
- Student–teacher ratio
- Not reported
What the reported data says about HEAD START
HEAD START is a public combined / other school serving grades PK–PK in PLANO. It is one of 76 current school records connected to PLANO ISD. NCES reports 143 students for 2024–25.
Among 695 combined / other schools in Texas with comparable records, this school is smaller than the reported median of 195 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 41st percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.
The reported student–teacher ratio is 20.1:1, above the Texas median of 11.8:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.
The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are Hispanic or Latino (68.5%) and Black (16.1%). These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.
Questions worth asking HEAD START
- 1How do the reported 20.1:1 student–teacher ratio and 7.12 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
- 2Which advanced, gifted, career, arts, and computer-science courses are available this year, and how do students qualify?
- 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 1 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
- 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Enrollment needs
- Free/reduced-price lunch
- 97.9%
- Lunch program
- Yes participating without using any Provision or the CEO
Reported support staff
- Counselors (FTE)
- 1
- Nurses (FTE)
- 1
- Psychologists (FTE)
- 0
- Social workers (FTE)
- 1
CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.
Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White11.2%
- Hispanic68.5%
- Black16.1%
- Asian2.8%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.7%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial0.7%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.
Programs reported by the school
Gifted and talented
Not reported as offered
CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.
Other schools in PLANO ISD
Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.
ADULT TRANSITION CENTER
Other · Grades AE–AE
101 reported students
PEARSON EARLY CHILDHOOD
Other · Grades PK–PK
220 reported students
ISAACS EARLY CHILDHOOD SCHOOL
Other · Grades PK–PK
259 reported students
BEATY EARLY CHILDHOOD SCHOOL
Other · Grades PK–PK
281 reported students
VINES H S
Other · Grades 09–10
1,009 reported students
MCMILLEN H S
Other · Grades 09–10
1,010 reported students
