At a glance
Source years shown below
Reported students
2,316
NCES CCD 2024–25
Open schools
9
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
Student–teacher ratio
12.4:1
Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE
Spending per pupil
$15,191
Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33
Instruction per pupil
$8,134
Calculated from FY 2023 F-33
Grades served
PK–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.
- Students
- 2,436
- Teachers (FTE)
- 179
- Student–teacher ratio
- 13.6:1
What current records say about Buchanan County Public Schools
Buchanan County Public Schools operates 9 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Grundy, Virginia. NCES reports 2,316 students and 186.7 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.
Within Virginia agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 87 of 131 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.
FY 2023 finance records show $15,191 in current expenditure per pupil and $8,134 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 62 of 131 in Virginia. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.
Reported needs and resources
- English learners
- 0.2%
- Students with disabilities (IDEA)
- 16.5%
- Classroom teachers (FTE)
- 186.7
- Current expenditure (FY 2023)
- $37,401,000
Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.
Buchanan County Public Schools
Grundy, Virginia
NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 37.2984, -82.0360
View office location on a map →An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.
Enrollment questions to ask →Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White96.8%
- Hispanic1.7%
- Black0.3%
- Asian0.3%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.1%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
- Multiracial0.7%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.
Explore schools in Buchanan County Public Schools
9 current directory entries
Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.
Showing 1–9 of 9 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.
| School | Level / grades | Students | Ratio | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Buchanan County Technology Career & Higher Learning Center | OtherN–N | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Council Elementary/Middle | ElementaryPK–07 | 194 | 12.2:1 | |
| Council High | High08–12 | 115 | 11.2:1 | |
| Grundy High | High09–12 | 352 | 14.8:1 | |
| Hurley Elementary/Middle | ElementaryPK–07 | 323 | 11.5:1 | |
| Hurley High | High08–12 | 194 | 15.2:1 | |
| Riverview Elementary/Middle | ElementaryPK–08 | 719 | 14.4:1 | |
| Twin Valley Elementary/Middle | ElementaryPK–07 | 240 | 11.2:1 | |
| Twin Valley High | High08–12 | 179 | 12.6:1 |
