Skip to content

Roanoke County Public Schools

NCES agency ID 5103330 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

13,735

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

29

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

13.6:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$13,365

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$8,475

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
13,840
Teachers (FTE)
1,067.94
Student–teacher ratio
13:1

What current records say about Roanoke County Public Schools

Roanoke County Public Schools operates 29 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Roanoke, Virginia. NCES reports 13,735 students and 1,006.94 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Virginia agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 21 of 131 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $13,365 in current expenditure per pupil and $8,475 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 114 of 131 in Virginia. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Roanoke County Public Schools with regular districts in the Virginia rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
3%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
15.2%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
1,006.94
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$184,579,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Roanoke County Public Schools

Roanoke, Virginia

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 37.3229, -80.0204

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White70.4%
  • Hispanic9.6%
  • Black8.6%
  • Asian4.7%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial6.6%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Roanoke County Public Schools

29 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–24 of 29 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Alternative Secondary Transition Educational ProgramOtherN–NNot reportedNot reported
Back Creek ElementaryElementaryPK–0527414.1:1
Bonsack ElementaryElementaryPK–0531112.7:1
Burlington ElementaryElementaryPK–0553014.5:1
Burton Center for Arts and TechnologyOtherN–NNot reportedNot reported
Cave Spring ElementaryElementaryPK–0548915.5:1
Cave Spring HighHigh09–121,04615.6:1
Cave Spring MiddleMiddle06–0874613.9:1
Clearbrook ElementaryElementaryPK–0532013.6:1
Fort Lewis ElementaryElementaryPK–0525014.3:1
Glen Cove ElementaryElementaryPK–0542514.4:1
Glenvar ElementaryElementaryPK–0537214.6:1
Glenvar HighHigh09–1262016:1
Glenvar MiddleMiddle06–0843311.9:1
Governor's STEM Academy at the Burton Center for Arts and TeOtherN–NNot reportedNot reported
Green Valley ElementaryElementaryPK–0548314:1
Herman L. Horn ElementaryElementaryPK–0539911.2:1
Hidden Valley HighHigh09–1283215.2:1
Hidden Valley MiddleMiddle06–0858113.6:1
Mason's Cove ElementaryElementaryPK–052049.5:1
Mount Pleasant ElementaryElementaryPK–0524610.9:1
Mountain View ElementaryElementaryPK–0537712:1
Northside HighHigh09–1291914.9:1
Northside MiddleMiddle06–0864813.6:1