Skip to content

Smyth County Public Schools

NCES agency ID 5103520 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

4,132

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

15

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

11.1:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$15,196

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$8,795

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
4,066
Teachers (FTE)
402.95
Student–teacher ratio
10.1:1

What current records say about Smyth County Public Schools

Smyth County Public Schools operates 15 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Marion, Virginia. NCES reports 4,132 students and 371.99 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Virginia agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 60 of 131 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $15,196 in current expenditure per pupil and $8,795 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 61 of 131 in Virginia. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Smyth County Public Schools with regular districts in the Virginia rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
0.8%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
15.8%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
371.99
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$60,497,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Smyth County Public Schools

Marion, Virginia

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 36.8333, -81.5133

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White87.9%
  • Hispanic4.4%
  • Black4.8%
  • Asian0.4%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial2.2%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Smyth County Public Schools

15 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–15 of 15 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Atkins ElementaryElementaryPK–051689.7:1
Chilhowie ElementaryElementaryPK–0558914.4:1
Chilhowie HighHigh09–1238414.3:1
Chilhowie MiddleMiddle06–0827312.8:1
Marion ElementaryElementaryPK–0529813.7:1
Marion MiddleMiddle06–0840110.8:1
Marion Senior HighHigh09–1256310.6:1
Northwood HighHigh09–122048.8:1
Northwood MiddleMiddle06–081588.4:1
Oak Point ElementaryElementaryPK–0535211.4:1
Rich Valley ElementaryElementaryPK–0512611.4:1
Saltville ElementaryElementaryPK–0518911.5:1
Smyth County Career & Technical CenterOtherN–NNot reportedNot reported
Smyth County VirtualElementaryKG–0233917:1
Sugar Grove ElementaryElementaryPK–05888.2:1