At a glance
Source years shown below
Reported students
64,731
NCES CCD 2024–25
Open schools
87
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
Student–teacher ratio
14.3:1
Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE
Spending per pupil
$14,888
Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33
Instruction per pupil
$8,339
Calculated from FY 2023 F-33
Grades served
PK–12
NCES preliminary directory 2025–26
Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22
These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.
- Students
- 64,050
- Teachers (FTE)
- 4,911.8
- Student–teacher ratio
- 13:1
What current records say about Virginia Beach City Public Schools
Virginia Beach City Public Schools operates 87 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Virginia Beach, Virginia. NCES reports 64,731 students and 4,519.33 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.
Within Virginia agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 4 of 131 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.
FY 2023 finance records show $14,888 in current expenditure per pupil and $8,339 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 74 of 131 in Virginia. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.
Reported needs and resources
- English learners
- 2.9%
- Students with disabilities (IDEA)
- 12.1%
- Classroom teachers (FTE)
- 4,519.33
- Current expenditure (FY 2023)
- $974,503,000
Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.
Virginia Beach City Public Schools
Virginia Beach, Virginia
NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 36.7520, -76.0596
View office location on a map →An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.
Enrollment questions to ask →Student demographics
Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment
- White44.5%
- Hispanic14.5%
- Black23.1%
- Asian6.2%
- American Indian / Alaska Native0.2%
- Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.5%
- Multiracial11.1%
Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.
Explore schools in Virginia Beach City Public Schools
87 current directory entries
Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.
Showing 1–24 of 87 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.
| School | Level / grades | Students | Ratio | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adult Learning Ctr. | OtherN–N | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Advanced Technology Center | OtherN–N | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Alanton Elementary | ElementaryPK–05 | 632 | 14.8:1 | |
| An Achievable Dream Academy | OtherN–N | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Arrowhead Elementary | ElementaryPK–05 | 500 | 13.4:1 | |
| Bayside Elementary | ElementaryPK–05 | 546 | 11.8:1 | |
| Bayside High | High09–12 | 1,984 | 17:1 | |
| Bayside Middle | Middle06–08 | 628 | 10.3:1 | |
| Birdneck Elementary | ElementaryPK–05 | 584 | 11.4:1 | |
| Brandon Middle | Middle06–08 | 1,053 | 15.3:1 | |
| Brookwood Elementary | ElementaryPK–05 | 574 | 13.8:1 | |
| Centerville Elementary | ElementaryPK–05 | 570 | 16.7:1 | |
| Christopher Farms Elementary | ElementaryPK–05 | 626 | 15.9:1 | |
| College Park Elementary | ElementaryPK–05 | 496 | 13:1 | |
| Corporate Landing Elementary | ElementaryPK–05 | 415 | 12.3:1 | |
| Corporate Landing Middle | Middle06–08 | 995 | 15.7:1 | |
| Creeds Elementary | ElementaryPK–05 | 333 | 13.8:1 | |
| Diamond Springs Elementary | ElementaryPK–01 | 467 | 10:1 | |
| Fairfield Elementary | ElementaryPK–05 | 478 | 15.8:1 | |
| First Colonial High | High09–12 | 1,727 | 18.3:1 | |
| Floyd Kellam High | High09–12 | 1,842 | 18:1 | |
| Frank W. Cox High | High09–12 | 1,631 | 18:1 | |
| Glenwood Elementary | ElementaryPK–05 | 896 | 14.8:1 | |
| Gov STEM Academy for Engineering Marketing and Information | OtherN–N | Not reported | Not reported |
