Skip to content

Danbury School District

NCES agency ID 0901020 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

11,956

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

20

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

14.2:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$19,386

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$13,759

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
11,595
Teachers (FTE)
837
Student–teacher ratio
13.9:1

What current records say about Danbury School District

Danbury School District operates 20 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Danbury, Connecticut. NCES reports 11,956 students and 844.4 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Connecticut agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 6 of 168 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $19,386 in current expenditure per pupil and $13,759 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 164 of 167 in Connecticut. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Danbury School District with regular districts in the Connecticut rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
32.2%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
12.7%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
844.4
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$234,743,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Danbury School District

Danbury, Connecticut

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 41.4073, -73.4262

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White19.5%
  • Hispanic66%
  • Black6.1%
  • Asian4.1%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial3.9%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Danbury School District

20 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–20 of 20 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Broadview Middle SchoolMiddle06–081,07013.3:1
Danbury High SchoolHigh09–123,61215.7:1
Danbury High School WestOther09–11Not reportedNot reported
DPS Early Childhood CenterElementaryPK–KG6516.3:1
DPS Early Childhood Center at GranvilleOtherPK–PK18415.3:1
Ellsworth Avenue SchoolElementaryPK–0549215.1:1
Great Plain SchoolElementaryKG–0527112.9:1
Hayestown Avenue SchoolElementaryKG–0545013.6:1
King Street Intermediate SchoolElementary04–0536715.8:1
King Street Primary SchoolElementaryKG–0339314.3:1
Mill Ridge Primary SchoolElementaryKG–0331915:1
Morris Street SchoolElementaryKG–0534012.2:1
Park Avenue SchoolElementaryKG–0556212.9:1
Pembroke SchoolElementaryKG–0537613.3:1
Rogers Park Middle SchoolMiddle06–0888810.8:1
Shelter Rock SchoolElementaryKG–0552716.3:1
South Street SchoolElementaryKG–0537214.3:1
Stadley Rough SchoolElementaryKG–0547915.6:1
Western CT Academy of International Studies Elementary MagneElementaryKG–0533014.3:1
Westside Middle School AcademyMiddle06–0873616.5:1