Skip to content

Henderson County

NCES agency ID 2102710 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

6,707

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

14

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

16:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$13,397

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$8,293

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
6,565
Teachers (FTE)
451.2
Student–teacher ratio
14.6:1

What current records say about Henderson County

Henderson County operates 14 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Henderson, Kentucky. NCES reports 6,707 students and 420 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Kentucky agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 19 of 171 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $13,397 in current expenditure per pupil and $8,293 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 117 of 171 in Kentucky. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Henderson County with regular districts in the Kentucky rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
2.7%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
13.7%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
420
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$93,173,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Henderson County

Henderson, Kentucky

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 37.8316, -87.5683

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White70.3%
  • Hispanic7.8%
  • Black10.4%
  • Asian0.6%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.5%
  • Multiracial10.3%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Henderson County

14 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–14 of 14 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
A B Chandler Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0525614.4:1
Bend Gate Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0542115.5:1
Cairo Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0523314.7:1
East Heights Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0537714.4:1
Henderson County High SchoolHigh09–121,85216.8:1
Henderson County High School CTEHigh09–12Not reportedNot reported
Henderson County North Middle SchoolMiddle06–0867014.7:1
Henderson County South Middle SchoolMiddle06–0866113.9:1
Jefferson Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0541315.6:1
Niagara Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0527018.2:1
South Heights Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0541314:1
Spottsville Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0551416.1:1
The Central AcademyHigh06–1226922.2:1
Thelma B. Johnson Early Learning CenterOtherPK–PK35823.9:1