Skip to content

Owensboro Independent

NCES agency ID 2104590 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

5,049

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

13

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

13.8:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$16,080

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$10,240

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
4,760
Teachers (FTE)
359.5
Student–teacher ratio
13.2:1

What current records say about Owensboro Independent

Owensboro Independent operates 13 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in Owensboro, Kentucky. NCES reports 5,049 students and 366.7 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Kentucky agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 25 of 171 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $16,080 in current expenditure per pupil and $10,240 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 25 of 171 in Kentucky. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare Owensboro Independent with regular districts in the Kentucky rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
5.8%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
15%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
366.7
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$81,043,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

Owensboro Independent

Owensboro, Kentucky

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 37.7592, -87.1146

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White55.1%
  • Hispanic15.5%
  • Black13.1%
  • Asian3.1%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.3%
  • Multiracial12.7%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in Owensboro Independent

13 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–13 of 13 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
Cravens Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0539613.3:1
Emerson AcademyHigh09–1210410.4:1
Estes Elementary SchoolElementaryPK–0549213.5:1
Foust Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0540012.1:1
Hager PreschoolOtherPK–PK1209.9:1
Kentucky TECH - Owensboro CampusOtherUG–UG0Not reported
Newton Parrish Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0554514.9:1
Owensboro High SchoolHigh09–121,34216.6:1
Owensboro Innovation AcademyHigh09–1200:1
Owensboro Innovation Middle SchoolMiddle06–0831116.3:1
Owensboro Middle SchoolMiddle06–0879012.7:1
Owensboro Technical CollegeOtherUG–UG0Not reported
Sutton Elementary SchoolElementaryKG–0553516.2:1