Skip to content

Legacy Jr High

Grades 07–09 · LAYTON, UT · NCES 490021001275

At a glance

Reported students

1,125

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

41.4

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

27.2:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

07–09

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Utah middle enrollment

81st percentile

Compared with 144 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

617.5

Legacy Jr High: 1,125 reported students.

State peer staffing position

99th percentile

27.2:1 reported; state peer median 22.3:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
1,120
Teachers (FTE)
51.86
Student–teacher ratio
21.6:1

What the reported data says about Legacy Jr High

Legacy Jr High is a public middle school serving grades 07–09 in LAYTON. It is one of 97 current school records connected to Davis District. NCES reports 1,125 students for 2024–25.

Among 144 middle schools in Utah with comparable records, this school is larger than the reported median of 860 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 81st percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 27.2:1, above the Utah median of 22.3:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (84.3%) and Hispanic or Latino (9.2%). English learners represent 2.5% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 9.4%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

The 2021–22 civil-rights collection reports AP student enrollment. The school reported 1 AP course. Program availability changes, so families should confirm the current catalog and participation rules directly with the school.

Questions worth asking Legacy Jr High

  1. 1How do the reported 27.2:1 student–teacher ratio and 41.4 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 3 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4What meal assistance, transportation, after-school, and family-support services are currently available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

English learners
2.5%
Students with disabilities
9.4%
Free/reduced-price lunch
10%
Lunch program
Yes participating without using any Provision or the CEO

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
3
Nurses (FTE)
0.33
Psychologists (FTE)
0.5
Social workers (FTE)
0

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White84.3%
  • Hispanic9.2%
  • Black1.2%
  • Asian1.2%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native0%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0.6%
  • Multiracial3.6%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

Students enrolled

1 distinct course reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 97 district schools →