Skip to content

San Juan High

Grades 05–12 · BLANDING, UT · NCES 490090000537

At a glance

Reported students

425

NCES CCD 2024–25

Teachers (FTE)

23.7

NCES CCD 2024–25

Student–teacher ratio

17.9:1

Calculated; not a class-size measure

Grades served

05–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

School benchmarks

Utah high enrollment

48th percentile

Compared with 197 same-level schools reporting enrollment.

District median enrollment

266

San Juan High: 425 reported students.

State peer staffing position

40th percentile

17.9:1 reported; state peer median 20.4:1. Ratio is not class size.

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Differences between years can reflect changes in enrollment, staffing, or reporting scope.

Students
464
Teachers (FTE)
22.11
Student–teacher ratio
21:1

What the reported data says about San Juan High

San Juan High is a public high school serving grades 05–12 in BLANDING. It is one of 12 current school records connected to San Juan District. NCES reports 425 students for 2024–25.

Among 197 high schools in Utah with comparable records, this school is close in size to the reported median of 459 students. Its enrollment is at approximately the 48th percentile for that peer group. Size describes the campus, not instructional quality.

The reported student–teacher ratio is 17.9:1, below the Utah median of 20.4:1 for the same school level. This ratio uses total enrollment and teacher FTE; it is not an average classroom headcount and can be affected by special programs or part-time staffing.

The largest reported race and ethnicity groups are White (51.8%) and American Indian or Alaska Native (38.6%). English learners represent 24.4% of enrollment. Students served under IDEA represent 12.9%. These figures help families understand who the school serves; they are not rating inputs.

Questions worth asking San Juan High

  1. 1How do the reported 17.9:1 student–teacher ratio and 23.7 teacher FTE translate into actual class sizes by grade?
  2. 2Have the reported academic programs changed since the 2021–22 CRDC collection?
  3. 3What counseling support is available today? The school reported 2 counselor FTE in 2021–22.
  4. 4Does community eligibility provide breakfast and lunch to every enrolled student, and are summer meals available?
Bring the full school visit checklist →

Enrollment needs

English learners
24.4%
Students with disabilities
12.9%
Free/reduced-price lunch
55.5%
Lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)

Reported support staff

Counselors (FTE)
2
Nurses (FTE)
0
Psychologists (FTE)
0
Social workers (FTE)
1

CRDC 2021–22 full-time-equivalent counts; verify current assignments with the school.

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White51.8%
  • Hispanic6.1%
  • Black0.2%
  • Asian0%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native38.6%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial3.3%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22. Lunch eligibility: NCES CCD 2024–25. Privacy rules can produce missing values.

Programs reported by the school

AP student enrollment

No students enrolled reported

Gifted and talented

Not reported as offered

Computer science

Not reported as offered

CRDC 2021–22: the AP flag records student enrollment; gifted and computer-science fields describe reported programs/classes. Confirm current courses and eligibility with the school.

Start with campuses at the same school level or with similar reported enrollment.

View all 12 district schools →