Skip to content

BRAINERD PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT

NCES agency ID 2706090 · Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union

At a glance

Reported students

6,079

NCES CCD 2024–25

Open schools

15

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Student–teacher ratio

14.9:1

Calculated from NCES 2024–25 enrollment and teacher FTE

Spending per pupil

$14,608

Current expenditure · FY 2023 F-33

Instruction per pupil

$9,573

Calculated from FY 2023 F-33

Grades served

PK–12

NCES preliminary directory 2025–26

Historical enrollment and staffing · CRDC 2021–22

These older figures are kept separate from 2024–25 statistics and benchmarks. Agency figures aggregate matched current school records; they may not cover the complete historical district.

Students
6,094
Teachers (FTE)
477.14
Student–teacher ratio
12.8:1

What current records say about BRAINERD PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT

BRAINERD PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT operates 15 current public-school records serving grades PK–12 in BRAINERD, Minnesota. NCES reports 6,079 students and 409.01 classroom teacher FTE for 2024–25.

Within Minnesota agencies of the same NCES type, it ranks 34 of 327 with reported enrollment. That position describes scale only—it does not say whether individual schools are a good fit for a particular student.

FY 2023 finance records show $14,608 in current expenditure per pupil and $9,573 per pupil assigned to instruction. Within the same NCES agency type, this places reported current spending 160 of 327 in Minnesota. Local wages, transportation, special education, facilities, and agency responsibilities all affect this comparison.

Compare BRAINERD PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT with regular districts in the Minnesota rankings →

Reported needs and resources

English learners
0.4%
Students with disabilities (IDEA)
22.4%
Classroom teachers (FTE)
409.01
Current expenditure (FY 2023)
$91,038,000

Context measures describe who a district serves and its resources. They are not negative rating inputs.

BRAINERD PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT

BRAINERD, Minnesota

NCES EDGE 2024–25 · 46.3522, -94.1969

View office location on a map →

An office location does not show attendance boundaries. Ask the district to confirm the school assignment for a specific home address.

Enrollment questions to ask →

Student demographics

Race and ethnicity share of reported enrollment

  • White87.9%
  • Hispanic2.7%
  • Black1.2%
  • Asian0.6%
  • American Indian / Alaska Native1.9%
  • Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander0%
  • Multiracial5.8%

Race/ethnicity: NCES CCD 2024–25. English learner and disability context: CRDC 2021–22 matched schools. Totals can differ due to rounding or source privacy rules.

Explore schools in BRAINERD PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT

15 current directory entries

Search the full district by school name or level, or browse the alphabetical directory. Add schools to your comparison as you go.

Showing 1–15 of 15 schools · enrollment and ratios: NCES 2024–25. Scroll the table to see all columns.

Schools, grade spans, enrollment, and student–teacher ratios
SchoolLevel / gradesStudentsRatioCompare
BAXTER ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–0450614.9:1
BRAINERD EARLY CHILDHOOD SP. ED.OtherPK–PK1515.8:1
Brainerd Online SchoolHigh09–120Not reported
BRAINERD SENIOR HIGHHigh09–121,80520:1
FORESTVIEW MIDDLEMiddle05–081,62615.5:1
GARFIELD ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–0425012.1:1
HARRISON ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–0423012.1:1
ISD 181 Learning CenterHigh08–1216614.9:1
Lincoln Ed Center Summer C&TOther02–12Not reportedNot reported
LINCOLN EDUCATION CENTEROther03–121056.6:1
LOWELL ELEMENTARYElementaryKG–0435513.9:1
MIDDLE LEVEL ALTERNATIVE PROGRAMMiddle05–08147:1
NISSWA ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–0524913.8:1
RIVERSIDE ELEMENTARYElementaryPK–0440710.2:1
WELC - VPKOtherPK–PK215Not reported